Hello Kitty Orchid Garden Cafe – Singapore

I’ve arrived in Singapore! First order of business upon arriving was to head straight to Terminal 3 via the skytrain to meet my friend who was already queuing for us at the brand new Hello Kitty Orchid Garden cafe which just opened last week at Changi International Airport. We were well aware of the long queue times but I had a few hours to kill before being picked up so we decided to give it a try. 


After at least 45 minutes of queuing we finally got a table! The cafe is designed as an Orchid Garden with pink and white orchids hanging from the ceiling and around the walls. The cafe chairs either are shaped like the Hello Kitty bow or have the cafe’s stamp marked on them, and the white gates also have Hello Kitty shapes. 

Around the glass walls is a storybook of Hello Kitty growing her Orchid Garden. 




The prices are quite high, which is to expected at an airport cafe anyway I suppose. And while some of the dishes come in Hello Kitty Shapes or are stamped with the logo, not all of them do. I would have liked to order the Big Breakfast Surprise mainly for the Kitty shapes waffle but I wasn’t really in the mood for bacon and eggs at 8pm. Instead I ordered the Hola Nachos and my friend ordered a mushroom soup and jerk chicken. 


The nachos are technically a side dish and come out in this very long board which actually isn’t very convenient on such a small table. I ordered this for myself because I had eaten a lot during the plan ride and this was the only thing on the menu that I really felt like. The menu says the nachos are made from tortilla chips, and they were really yum but actually tasted more like fried roti bread to me. The cheese sauce was also not bad. 


As you can see the mushroom soup and jerk chicken did not have too much to do with the Hello Kitty theme except for a biscuit on the side of the soup plate. The soup bowl was really enormous! I don’t know why they didn’t think more about the side of the dishes compared to the size of the tables. 


The drinks ($7.90SGD each) were not bad, I had a gingerale/raspberry mixed soda and my friend had watermelon/basil mixed soda. They weren’t overly sweet and were quite refreshing. 


For dessert we ordered the ‘Rose Rose I Love You’ dish which was designed to be a rose in a flower pot with peanut icecream. I wasn’t that into this dessert, the flower pot was simply and orange sugee cake covered with chocolate soil and the peanut icecream didn’t really go well with the cake. In the end my friend are all the cake and I ate the icecream. 


And of course there is a chance to take photos with Hello Kitty! 


At the entrance of the cafe they have some goods on sale. You can buy Hello Kitty shapes postcards, tea and germination boxes (to grow your own garden). 

Overall I think it is quite a nice cafe, the food was mostly tasty and the drinks were nice. I think if you live in Singapore it’s definitely a better idea to wait until the fuss dies down a bit and you can get in without queuing such a long time. If you are visiting and have some hours to kill at the airport then why not check it out now, just avoid the main meals times! I much preferred the design of this cafe to the Hello Kitty cafes I’ve been to in Seoul, the flowers made a really pretty atmosphere and it wasn’t overly cutesy. Be prepared for a big bill however, our meal came to around $80SGD! 


Name: Hello Kitty Orchid Garden

Address: Changi International Airport, Terminal 3 Arrivals Hall 

One comment

Leave a comment